top of page

What do Your Chakras Do?

We hear more and more about Chakras. What exactly are they and what do they do? Chakras are energy centers in our bodies.

Everything, at its smallest most basic level, is energy. Our bodies are made of atoms, which are energetic particles. Studies in Quantum Physics show that even our thoughts and emotions are energy. I'm not going to attempt to explain that I'll leave that to the physicists. Studies have shown that we are all connected energetically. How many times have you said or heard, "You can cut the tension in here with a knife." Most of us have all felt that, and what we are feeling is the energy other people are giving off.

Why do we give off and feel the energy? Because we are energy. There are several different energetic aspects of our beings, which I will talk about in another post. Today I'm going to talk about Chakras.

There are 7 major chakras in our bodies. They are spinning wheels of energy that help to regulate our organs, mind, and thoughts. They can be affected by emotions, stress, poor diet, lack of exercise, and bad habits. These things can make our energy out of balance. If left out of balance too long, we will develop symptoms, and if still not corrected, the out-of-balance energy can cause physical illness.

Let's look at what the 7 Chakras do. In Future posts we will dive deeper into the Chakras and learn what an out of balance chakra looks and feels like and what we can do about it. For now, lets get into the basics.

Root Chakra- this is called the Muladhara chakra . It is located at the base of the spine. It is considered the first Chakra. It is all about our basic needs. Our need for good health, for feeling grounded to the earth, for feeling supported and stable in the physical world. For having our needs for food, shelter and safety met. When balanced we feel safe and secure.

Sacral Chakra - this is the second chakra. it is called Svadhishthana and is located just below the naval. It governs creative expression, sexuality and can increase intuition. It is associated with sensuality, sexual intimacy, birth, the divine feminine, healthy emotions and the inner child, and creativity. When in balance, we have energy for creativity, relationships and pleasurable activities.

Solar Plexus Chakra- the third chakra is located several inches about the naval. It is called Manipura. It is about confidence, self-esteem and a feeling that you are in control of your life. It is where our gut feeling comes from.

Heart Chakra- the fourth chakra is called Anahata. It is located in the center of the chest. It is our center of love, compassion and forgiveness for ourself and others, it is also where our empathy comes from. Joy comes from our heart chakra.

Throat Chakra - Called Vishuddha, the fifth chakra is in the center of our throat. It guides our communication, self-expression, and the ability to speak our personal truth.

Third Eye Chakra- also called the brow chakra or Ajna. It is located in the center of the forehead between the eyebrows. This chakra is responsible for our ability to read nonverbal communications. It also governs our intuition and "6th sense".

Crown Chakra - the seventh chakra, called Sahasrara, is located at the crown of our head. It is all about uplifting and inspiring us. It connects us to our higher power and our higher self.

I'll be talking about what happens when our chakras are out of balance and what we can do to keep them healthy in future posts.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page